BComm Global Experience: Patricks’s Placement Blog

My name is Patrick Hynes-Foy and I completed a six-month internship with Aerogen, a Galway-based innovate medical devices company that specializes in the production of aerosol drug delivery systems. The company moved me to Chicago and I now work with them as a Sales Analyst in their US headquarters. Our patented technology revolves around the Aerogen Solo, a vibrating mesh nebulizer which has been used to treat over 2 million patients worldwide in over 70 countries. Our patients range from asthmatics to people with cystic fibrosis and congestive heart failure. The company has recorded revenue growth of 30% year-on-year for the past eight years and just this year opened up a new pharmaceuticals business in California.

Placement overview

During my six month internship I worked as a Marketing Intern. The work that I did at Aerogen far exceeded my highest expectations. On day one I was made project lead for the development of the company’s Chinese website as it prepared to launch into one of the largest world markets. I was also involved in the organization of two major international medical trade shows in Barcelona and Las Vegas. One of the most enjoyable projects that I coordinated was the Aerogen Incentive Trip. This was a prize for the top-selling sales reps in the United States. I worked with a tour company to create an itinerary for the trip which included visits to the Guinness Storehouse, Cliffs of Moher and Kilbeggan Distillery. I was even able to go dinner with the group, after which we attended the Connaught vs Leinster match at the Sportsgrounds.

Studying commerce in NUIG prepared me for my internship as I had already gained a broad knowledge of the business disciplines which proved to be essential. I worked daily with accounting software while managing the purchase orders as well as applying my marketing knowledge while creating promotional materials for the EU, China and the US.

Advice

Be proactive, not reactive. I met the CEO of the company and laid the foundations for my internship in a first year Skills to Succeed class. The CEO was giving a guest lecture and I approached him afterwards and asked him for an internship. He said that it was the first time in 8 years of visiting NUIG that someone had asked about an internship which shows that students need to engage more. You honestly have to make your own opportunities, nothing is handed to you, especially in the working world.

Leave a Reply

